Defending the Accused in Criminal and Traffic Courts Across Virginia Since 2012

divider

French Kissing a Child

separator

It is illegal in Virginia for an adult to have a romantic relationship with a child, even one that does not include sexual intercourse.  French kissing a child under 13 years old is a class 1 misdemeanor and one that can be punished by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.  A conviction would also require you to register as a sex offender for at least 10 years, which can make it difficult to keep a job or rent an apartment.

French kissing a child is treated very seriously by the courts.  Even though the minimum possible sentence does not include jail, I would not advise any client to expect to go home from court.  Courts often order active jail time, no contact with the child, and sometimes even psychological treatment with lie detector tests.

If you’ve been charged with French kissing a child, you need a lawyer.  Don’t waste any time trying to talk to the family or the police to make it go away.  You’ll only make things worse.  Instead, call The Law Office of Jennifer Raimo at (703) 591-4868 to schedule an appointment for a free consultation in a confidential setting.


separator